Questions about the Isle of Man.

Mrs Burns has told me that you are trying to get comments from around the world, so I thought I would drop by. I am a teacher in the Isle of Man, can any of you find it on a map? (Hint it is only about 75 miles away from your school.) The Isle of Man is famous for lots of things, including the TT motor bike races, cats with no tails and kippers.
If you have a question for me ask Mrs Burns if you can add it to your blog and I will try and answer it for you tomorrow.
Mr Nelson

Mr Nelson has said he will answer your questions about the Isle of Man. Add your questions below. Remember to use correct punctuation.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie Y
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 07:13:58

    Hello Mr Nelson I am Katie and it is very nice to hear from you!! What are the cats called with no tails? What type of money do you use in the Isle of Man? What is the weather like there? Do you have an Isle of Man flag? Thank you Mr Nelson.😸😀

    Reply

    • Mr W Nelson
      Mar 10, 2013 @ 19:56:30

      Hi Katie
      The Cats with no tails are called Manx Cats. A true Manx Cat has no tail at all, whilst some have a little tail and are called stumpies.
      We use Manx pounds for our money, and £1 manx is worth the same as £1 in England. We have our own bank notes and even still have a £1 note which they got rid of in England about 30 years ago. Ask Mrs Burns if she can remember them!
      The weather is similar to where you live, very cold and windy tonight. If you want to see what it is like at the moment you can find some web cams showing the Island at http://www.visitisleofman.com/webcam/webcam.aspx
      You can also get the current weather forecast at http://www.manxradio.com/weather.aspx
      Our Flag is red with a yellow three legs of man. Ask Mrs Burns if you can Google a picture of it.
      I hope that answers your questions.
      Mr Nelson

      Reply

  2. Aaron
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 19:04:21

    Hello Mr Nelson I am called Aaron and I am very happy that you went on our blog. Can you tell me if you have a football team? Looking forward to the answer.

    Reply

    • Mr W Nelson
      Mar 10, 2013 @ 20:00:51

      Hi Aaron
      We have 26 teams on the Island but none of them are very big and all of the players just play for fun. None of them get paid. You can find out more by looking at http://www.isleofmanfa.com/
      The Isle of man also has a National side, but it is not big enough to play England or play in the World Cup.

      Reply

      • Aaron
        Mar 12, 2013 @ 20:17:37

        Thank you for answering my question. The website looks very interesting.

      • Aaron
        Mar 12, 2013 @ 20:22:53

        Mr Nelson can you tell me what the Laxey wheel is. I know it is a place to visit, have you been there?

  3. Declan
    Mar 08, 2013 @ 17:26:16

    Hello Mr Nelsen I am called Declan and it is really good that you went on our blog. What is the weather like? Is it sunny or not.

    Reply

  4. Lily-Ellen
    Mar 08, 2013 @ 20:06:39

    Hello Mr Nelson I am called Lily-Ellen. I have a question for you. Does the Isle of Man have fancy hotels? I hope you will answer me soon.

    Reply

  5. Lucy
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 16:21:07

    Hello Mr.Nelson I am Lucy and I have got some questions for you. What does the Isle-of-man flag look like? Is the Isle-of-man a country. I am looking for the awnser. Thank you.

    Reply

    • Mr W Nelson
      Mar 10, 2013 @ 21:02:59

      Hi Lucy
      The Isle of Man flag is red with a yellow three legs. Ask Mrs Burns if you can Google it.
      The Isle of Man is a Crown Dependancy. This means that it has it’s own laws and politicians and the we govern ourselves for most things, but are linked to the UK and London for some aspects e.g. defence. I will try and explain the similarities and differences in another post tomorrow.
      Mr Nelson

      Reply

  6. milimuss
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 10:06:41

    Hello Mrs Burns’ class!
    As you are looking for comments from all over the world, here is a comment from… Switzerland! Switzerland is a small country (but not as small as the Isle of Man!) with high mountains (the Alps) and many beautiful landscapes.
    I am sorry if I did mistakes: we don’t speak English in Switzerland. You can correct me if necessary! Do you know which languages we speak in Switzerland? I can give you a hint: here are the four ways we can say ‘hello’:
    -Gruezi!
    -Salut!
    -Ciao!
    -Allegra!
    I wish you a nice week!
    Emilie

    Reply

    • Aaron
      Mar 12, 2013 @ 20:30:57

      For Emily:
      Hello I am called Aaron. Have you ever been skiing on the Alps? Is there lots of snow? Is it cold? I would like to go skiing one day.
      One last question what does skiing feel like?
      Thank you for reading our blog!

      Reply

      • milimuss
        Mar 15, 2013 @ 07:52:19

        Hello Aaron!
        Yes, I have been skiing in the Alps. My grand-parents live half of the year in the Alps, so I can use their chalet to go skiing. This year, when I was skiing, we had a lot of snow: 1 meter snow at the chalet and 3 to 5 meters on top of the moutains. It was quite cold, too. To keep the snow, the temperature is always below 0°C and today it is -14°C in the mountains.
        Have you ever used roller blades? You can imagine that skiing is a bit like roller blading on a steep and soft place. And when we jump, it’s like flying for some seconds.
        I hope you will be skiing one day, it’s really fun!
        I have used European units (meter, °C), do you understand them? Maybe you can convert them in units you know!

    • Katie Y
      Mar 15, 2013 @ 18:46:42

      Hi Emily it is very nice to hear from you ,now I know how to say hello in 4 different ways!What is your favourite sport? Thank you.

      Reply

    • Cemahl
      Mar 17, 2013 @ 10:10:21

      Ciao! My name is cemahl . I have a question for you. Do you have you own skiing team?

      Reply

  7. Mr W Nelson
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 20:24:23

    Hello Year 4
    Yesterday I said that I would try and explain the similarities and differences between the Isle of Man (IOM) and England. The IOM is a Crown Dependancy which means the Queen is still our Head of State, but we have our own separate Parliament called Tynwald. Tynwald is the oldest continuos parliament in the world and has been going since 979AD. (Can any of you work out how long ago that was?) Many of our laws are similar to the ones in England, but some are different, for example in the IOM you can learn to drive at 16, and on some of our roads we have no speed limit. Children in our schools don’t have to take SATS tests at the end of Year 2 and Year 6 and we have no OFSTED either.
    Many famous people where born on the IOM, including Samantha Barks, Mark Cavendish, David Knight, Archibald Knox, David and Mark Higgins and the Bee Gees.
    Famous people who have moved to live on the IOM include Jeremy Clarkson, James Toseland, Norman Wisdom, William Hillary, and Fletcher Christian.
    Can you find out what any of them are famous for?
    Did any famous people go to your school, or live near you?
    If you have any questions for me please ask them below and I will do my best to answer them for you.
    Mr W Nelson

    Reply

    • Cemahl
      Mar 17, 2013 @ 10:12:46

      Hi Mr Nelson! My name is Cemahl. I have a question for you. Would the Isle of Man be classed as Ireland or Great Britain because its in the middle. I am looking forward for the answer

      Reply

  8. Lucy
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 11:45:50

    Hello it is Lucy again I have got another question, do the people in the Isle of man speek another langwitch or do they just speek English. I am looking forward for the awnser. Thank you for reading my question. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Jo Halstead
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 19:22:32

    Hi, my name is Jo Halstead and I live in New Zealand in the North Island in an area called Hawkes Bay, we are in Winter time here with lots of snow on the mountains. We never get snow on the ground where we live as its too warm even in winter time. We are over 12 hours ahead of England so every year we celebrate Christmas and New Year 1st in the world. If you have any questions please feel free to ask them
    Jo Halstead

    Reply

What do you think?

